Your cart is currently empty!

WE PAY SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $60.00

Total $0.00

Subway Vegan Options in 2020: Best Sauce, Bread, Pattys, Sandwiches

Posted by Sage Williams on

When we think of vegan food options, Subway is not necessarily the first place that comes to mind — or even the last.

And yet, Subway has definitely more vegan options than you'd think, so if you're out and about when the hunger pangs hit, you are going to be more than okay walking into the closest Subway for a quick meal.

It's all about knowing what is available and how to tweak non-vegan options in a way that works for your diet!

How To Order Vegan At Subway?

So, you've just stepped into your local Subway branch and you're planning to walk out with a tasty, full plant-based meal.

  1. As a general rule of thumb, The first thing you should be on the lookout for is the type of sandwich bread or wrap you'd like to get, as not all the options are vegan-friendly (getting a salad would solve this problem easily, but it might not be the most filling option for the road!).
  2. Second, you want to fill your sub or wrap with the tastiest plant-based ingredients available, skipping the cheese in favor of more vegan-friendly dressings and sauces (Subway has more dairy-free sauces than you'd think, so don't despair just yet!).
  3. Finally, you might want to reach out for a sweet dessert or a few appetizing sides, which will likely not be as easy as getting your sub ready.

But before you start heading to the counter, have a look to see if you are lucky enough to have stumbled into one of the locations offering ready-made vegan options. That will make your order that much easier to figure out!

Subway Vegan Sandwiches

If you haven't stepped foot in the fast-food chain for quite a while, you may not know that in recent years it's become more vegan-friendly than you remember.

Now, ready-made vegan options at Subway are unfortunately still quite limited, but many locations across the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. offer at least one vegan sandwich.

Subway Beyond Meat Vegan Meatball Marinara Sub

Arguably the best vegan sandwich you can get your hands on at the popular fast-food chain, the Beyond Meat meatball sub was first trialed at specific locations across the U.S. and Canada back in 2019, and it became a permanent menu item in the U.K. in January 2020, just in time for Veganuary.

This sandwich is usually made with Italian white bread, and it features mouth-watering vegan cheese slices, Beyond Meat plant-based meatballs, a rich marinara tomato sauce, and vegan garlic mayo to top it all off.

Don't you think it'd be worth a trip to your nearest Subway? You can still find this exciting sandwich option in a selected number of locations in North America.

Subway Malibu Vegan Patty

The OG of vegan options at Subway, this sandwich was first trialed within North America back in 2012, and it is still available at a number of locations across Canada and the U.S.

The Malibu sandwich is made with a vegan patty packed with grains, such as brown rice and oats, plus a good amount of crunchy veg, and it is topped by a fiery signature sauce. The catch? Nowadays, it seems nearly impossible to find.

The Veggie Delite

This is the name given to a sub loaded with heaps of fresh veg, and nothing else but a chosen dressing.

Truth be told, your customized plant-based sub will likely be a type of Veggie Delite, minus the cheese slices you are going to be offered as you move down the line. While this might not sound like the most appetizing option, at least compared to the two tasty vegan options listed above, this sandwich will be more filling and satisfying than a simple salad, and with the right choice of Subway sauces your Veggie Delite will definitely have you coming back for more!

Is Subway Veggie Patty Vegan?

With such limited options, it might be tempting to reach out for the veggie-friendly Veggie Patty (without added cheese slices of course), but if you want to stay clear of animal products, you better give this meat-free option a miss.

The patty featured in this sandwich is in fact made with egg whites and calcium caseinate, a dairy byproduct, making it unsuitable for vegans.

Subway Vegan Bread

Now, let's have a look at the bread options to see how you can customize your own Veggie Delite.

Fortunately for vegans, the majority of wrap and bread options at Subway are free of animal products and suitable for a vegan diet. The only options that contain non-vegan ingredients are cheesy breads like the Jalapeno Cheese and Parmesan Oregano, breakfast items like the breakfast muffin, and bread options containing honey like the 9-Grain Honey Oat.

Is Subway flatbread wrap vegan?

If you like wraps, you'll certainly be able to find something for you among the options at Subway.

The regular, spinach, tomato basil, and habanero wraps are all suitable for vegans, and they all make for a lighter meal that's easier to pack and eat on-the-go if you're on a time crunch.

The white and whole wheat flatbreads, on the other hand, are labeled as containing dairy, making them both unsuitable for vegans.

Is Subway Italian bread vegan?

The Hearty Italian bread is probably the best choice for those following a plant-based diet, as it is not only vegan-friendly but also a delicious classic that's packed with a hearty, rustic flavor.

If you ask for a simple white bread for your sub, you're most likely going to end up with an Italian white bread, which is also suitable for a vegan diet.

Is Subway 9-Grain Wheat bread vegan?

Subway's 9-Grain Wheat bread is also suitable for vegans, and it makes for one of the best options at Subway for those who prefer healthier, fiber-rich subs.

Combining this type of bread with a wide range of different veggies and a lighter, low-fat sauce will help you keep your Subway lunch on the light side while keeping you full for longer.

Is Subway garlic bread vegan?

Subway's garlic bread, marketed as Roasted Garlic bread, is also vegan-friendly and absolutely delicious.

This is a great choice if you don't shy away from strong flavors and want to pack your sub with a lot of taste.

Unfortunately, just like Subway's Sourdough bread, it seems hard to find in most locations across the U.S., so if you manage to find these two options stocked in a store near you, give them a try before they sell out!

Subway Vegan Sauces and Dressings

The sauces at Subway are what will make your sub or wrap shine in all its plant-based glory.

Quite a few of the sauces and dressings available at the fast-food chain are suitable for vegans, such as the Buffalo Sauce, the Yellow Mustard, the Deli Brown Mustard, and of course the oil, vinegar, and vinaigrette you might want to add to your side salad.

Is Subway sweet onion sauce vegan?

Yes, the sweet onion sauce is vegan and it makes for the perfect dressing for your tomato basil wrap, Mediterrenean-inspired sub, or side salad.

Is vegan mayo available at Subway?

Well, the answer here is yes and no.

If you manage to find the Beyond Meat meatball sub at your local Subway, then you should be able to get some vegan mayo to go with it too, as it is part of the original recipe. However, if your chosen branch does not carry the Meatless Marinara sub, you won't be able to find vegan mayo and you'll have to stick with other signature sauces like the sweet onion sauce or the Deli Brown mustard.

Is Subway BBQ sauce vegan?

Like many other barbecue sauces on the market, Subway's BBQ sauce is not vegan-friendly as it contains animal products, though it is unclear which kind of non-vegan ingredients are used.

Going by classic BBQ sauce recipes, the sauce may contain anchovies or honey — stick to the Buffalo sauce if you're looking for a strong kick!

Is Subway honey mustard vegan?

The honey mustard sauce is not suitable for vegans as it contains honey, an animal product.

Is Subway guacamole vegan?

Vegans, rejoice — Subway's guacamole is 100% plant-based and 100% delicious.

Going heavy on the guac is a foolproof way of filling your sub with enough calories and flavor to make it a lunch worth having twice. In fact, having a sub or a wrap filled with fresh veggies might not keep you satiated for long, nor it is a very balanced option if we look at all the carb-heavy ingredients.

Guacamole is one of the best vegan options at Subway for those looking to add healthy fats to their meal, so take advantage of it if your customized wrap or sub looks to be needing a little extra nutrition and flavor.

Is there any Subway vegan cheese?

The good news is that yes, vegan cheese is now available at some Subway branches.

The bad news is that you're only going to find it in a location that offers the Beyond Meat meatball sub, as vegan, dairy-free cheese is one of the ingredients used. So, if you're in luck and happen to stumble upon one of these locations, skip the boring salad and go for a Veggie Delite with double vegan cheese!

Are Subway cookies vegan?

Unfortunately, Subway has yet to carry any vegan-friendly cookies, so if you're craving a sweet pick-me-up to finish off your meal, you'll be limited to apple slices for the foreseeable future.

What chips are vegan at Subway?

Subway offers a few accidentally vegan potato chips that you can have on the side. These include Lay's Classic potato chips, Oven Baked Lay's, and SunChips Original.

And for a piece of free advice, try layering some potato chips inside your sub for an extra crunch that can take your lunch to the next level — you might even forget about your cravings for a vegan dessert!

Personalize Your Nutrition
Not feeling 100% on your current diet? Answer 8 simple questions and our algorithm will identify which vitamins and nutrients your body may be screaming for!